Tuesday, June 22, 2021

CfP: Automating Knowledge Graph Construction

The Journal of Web Semantics invites submissions for a special issue on Automating Knowledge Graph Construction to be edited by Ernesto Jimenez-Ruiz, Jiaoyan Chen, Volker Tresp and Vasilis Efthymiou.

Submissions are due by 31st October 2021.

The Journal of Web Semantics (JoWS) invites submissions for a special issue on Automatic Knowledge Graph Construction (AKGC). Knowledge Graphs (KGs), as a critical part of AI, are playing an increasingly important role in many domains such as search engines, personal assistants, data integration, recommender systems, etc. For instance, Google uses its KG to augment its search results, while Apple and Amazon use their KGs to power their personal assistants, Siri and Alexa, respectively. However, KG construction is still a big challenge. Although several KGs such as Wikidata and DBpedia are already very large, they are still incomplete with limited coverage for supporting many domain-specific applications. With the development of digital technologies, many knowledge resources are now available as data, but they are usually separately stored in different data formats, including (semi-)structured data such as DBs, Web tables, CSV files, Web pages, spreadsheets, sensor records, and unstructured data such as literature and encyclopedia articles. Automatically or semi-automatically creating KGs from such resources would offer many benefits, but suitable techniques are missing and/or preliminary.

In this special issue, we welcome articles (1) proposing novel techniques for AKGC from structured data, semi-structured data, or a combination of structured, semi-structured and unstructured data; (2) proposing AKGC techniques for different domains and applications; (3) benchmarking or performing a thorough evaluation of existing AKGC techniques; and (4) reviewing existing AKGC techniques and resources with surveys and perspectives. A focus of the special issue will be effectiveness and reproducibility.

We encourage authors to submit their pre-prints (before peer review) into arXiv[1] and share the accepted versions by updating the preprint in arXiv. This is in line with the Green Open Access policy of the journal.[2]

Topics of Interest

The target topics include, but are not limited to:

  • KG construction from tabular data
  • Semantic table understanding
  • KG construction from the Web
  • KG construction from encyclopedias
  • KG construction from sensors
  • Virtual KG based on tables and DBs
  • Ontology and schema construction
  • Knowledge matching and integration for KG construction
  • Semantic embedding and machine learning models for KG construction
  • Neural-symbolic techniques for KG construction
  • KG completion, population and refinement
  • Knowledge canonicalization
  • Incremental KG construction
  • Construction of temporal KGs
  • Low-resource KG construction
  • (Semi-)automatic KG construction with crowdsourcing or human interaction
  • KG construction for applications and domains such as biomedicine, e-commerce, finance, geography, recommender systems, urban computation and Internet of Things
  • Benchmarks and empirical studies for KG construction techniques
  • Survey and perspective on KG construction

Guest Editors

Submission guidelines

The Journal of Web Semantics solicits original scientific contributions of high quality. Following the overall mission of the journal, we emphasize the publication of papers that combine theories, methods and experiments from different subject areas in order to deliver innovative semantic methods and applications. The publication of large-scale experiments and their analysis is also encouraged to clearly illustrate scenarios and methods that introduce semantics into existing Web interfaces, contents and services.

Submission of your manuscript is welcome provided that it, or any translation of it, has not been copyrighted or published and is not being submitted for publication elsewhere. Extensions of already published conference papers with formal proceedings will be considered as long as the submitted manuscript contains at least 30% new material. Manuscripts should be prepared for publication in accordance with instructions given in the JoWS guide for authors.[1] 

We welcome in the special issue five types of papers:

-       Regular (research) papers (recommended to have 15 - 25 pages)
-       In-use papers (recommended to have 15 - 25 pages)
-       Survey papers (recommended to have 15 - 25 pages)
-       System papers (recommended to have 6 - 8 pages)
-       Dataset papers (recommended to have 6 - 8 pages)


The submission and review process will be carried out using Elsevier's Web-based Editorial Manager (EM) system
[2]. Please state the name of the SI in your cover letter and, at the time of submission, please select “SI:AKGC” when reaching the Article Type selection.

Upon acceptance of an article, the author(s) will be asked to transfer copyright of the article to the publisher. This transfer will ensure the widest possible dissemination of information. Elsevier's liberal preprint policy permits authors and their institutions to host preprints on their web sites. Preprints of the articles will be made freely accessible on the JoWS preprint server. Final copies of accepted publications will appear in print and at Elsevier's archival online server.

Important Dates

Tentative deadlines. JoWS has a policy of allowing only one round of major revisions.
  • Intention to submit:
  • Important Dates:
    • Submission deadline:  October 31, 2021
    • Round of reviews 1:  December 15, 2021
    • Submission of revised paper R1:  January 31, 2022
    • Round of reviews 2:  March 15, 2022
    • Submission of revised paper R2:  April 15, 2022
    • Guest editor final notification:  April 30, 2022
    • Camera ready Paper Deadline:  May 15, 2022

Program committee

  1. Anastasia Dimou, Ghent University, Belgium (anastasia.dimou@ugent.be)
  2. Anisa Rula, University of Brescia, Italy (anisa.rula@unimib.it)
  3. Axel Polleres, Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria (axel.polleres@wu.ac.at)
  4. Basil Ell, Bielefeld University, Germany & University of Oslo, Norway (basile@ifi.uio.no)
  5. Beyza Yaman, Dublin City University, Ireland (beyza.yaman@adaptcentre.ie)
  6. Carina Negreanu, Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK (t-caneg@microsoft.com)
  7. Cassia Trojahn, IRIT, France (Cassia.Trojahn@irit.fr)
  8. Catia Pesquita, University of Lisbon, Portugal (clpesquita@fc.ul.pt)
  9. Chuan Lei, IBM Research, USA (chuan.lei@ibm.com)
  10. Daniela Oliveira, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal (dpoliveira@fc.ul.pt)
  11. Fernanda Baião, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (fbaiao@puc-rio.br)
  12. Haridimos Kondylakis, ICS-FORTH, Greece (kondylak@ics.forth.gr)
  13. Honghan Wu, University College London, UK (honghan.wu@ucl.ac.uk)
  14. Isabel F. Cruz, University of Illinois at Chicago, US (isabelcfcruz@gmail.com)
  15. Jamie McCusker, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA (mccusj2@rpi.edu)
  16. Jeff Z. Pan, The University of Edinburgh, UK (j.z.pan@ed.ac.uk)
  17. Jiahui Jin, Southeast University, China (jjin@seu.edu.cn)
  18. Juan Sequeda, data.world, USA (juan@data.world)
  19. Kavitha Srinivas, IBM Research, USA (kavitha.srinivas@ibm.com)
  20. Leyla Jael Garcia-Castro, ZB MED–Information Centre for Life Sciences, Germany (ljgarcia@zbmed.de)
  21. Marco Cremaschi, University of Milano - Bicocca, Italy (marco.cremaschi@unimib.it)
  22. Marco Mesiti, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy (marco.mesiti@unimi.it)
  23. Naouel Karam, Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems (FOKUS), Germany (naouel.karam@fokus.fraunhofer.de)
  24. Ningyu Zhang, Zhejiang University, China (zhangningyu@zju.edu.cn)
  25. Nora Youssef, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany (nora.youssef90@gmail.com)
  26. Oktie Hassanzadeh, IBM Research, USA (hassanzadeh@us.ibm.com)
  27. Oscar Corcho, Un. Politécnica de Madrid, Spain (ocorcho@fi.upm.es)
  28. Paul Groth, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands (p.groth@uva.nl)
  29. Pedro Szekely, University of Southern California, USA (szekely@usc.edu)
  30. Philipp Cimiano, Bielefeld University, Germany (cimiano@cit-ec.uni-bielefeld.de)
  31. Raphaël Troncy, EURECOM, France (raphael.troncy@eurecom.fr)
  32. Sainyam Galhotra, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA (sainyam@cs.umass.edu)
  33. Sara Bonfitto, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy (sara.bonfitto@unimi.it)
  34. Saravanan Thirumuruganathan, Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar (sthirumuruganathan@hbku.edu.qa)
  35. Semih Yumusak, AI4BD AG, Switzerland & KTO Karatay University, Turkey (semih.yumusak@karatay.edu.tr)
  36. Shuang Chen, Harbin Institute of Technology, China (schen@ir.hit.edu.cn)
  37. Shuo Zhang, Bloomberg, UK (szhang611@bloomberg.net)
  38. Songmao Zhang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China (smzhang@math.ac.cn)
  39. Thomas Labbe, Orange, France (thomas.labbe@orange.com)
  40. Tianxin Wu, Southeast University, China (tianxingwu@seu.edu.cn)
  41. Vincenzo Cutrona, University of Milano - Bicocca (IT), Italy (vincenzo.cutrona@unimib.it)
  42. Xi Chen, Tencent Technology, China (jasonxchen@tencent.com)
  43. Xiao Qin, IBM Research, USA (Xiao.Qin@ibm.com)
  44. Yannis Katsis, IBM Research, USA (yannis.katsis@ibm.com)
  45. Yoan Chabot, Orange, France (yoan.chabot@orange.com)
  46. Ziqi Zhang, University of Sheffield, UK (ziqi.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk)